Last Five Years

Posted: July 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Ya, it’s been a while.  I find my creative drive comes and goes.   A lot of what was posted is years of evidence of my creative drive being turned on and off.  I guess it’s those off moments you have to push through in order to allow art to become a full time career, talent, hobby or whatever you want it to be.  It seems the inspiration is what gets turned on and off.  Sometimes I find I am really inspired and other times I am not.
Recently I watched a Ted Talk by a woman named Brene Brown.  I had never seen a Ted Talk before or heard of Brene Brown; however, this talk was truly inspiring and revealed to me all kinds of pieces about myself that I didn’t know needed attention.  If you are wanting to know what I’m talking about I recommend checking out the following links:


If you aren’t wanting to pursue these I can sum it up with in saying that vulnerability is the birth place of creativity, among other things.  Perhaps it’s time I worked on unlocking this to unlock more of my creativity and inspiration.

Last night I had a moment of vulnerability with some friends as the topic of my last five years came up.  I was reminiscing my camp days and how long ago they were, which then lead to thinking about how much of my life has gone by since then and how I feel I have accomplished very little.  Turns out I have really good friends and they spent the next while telling me all I had accomplished and assuring me of my great future, whatever it looks like.

I went home feeling unwell today and couldn’t get the previous nights conversation out of my mind.  Considering I had recently been vulnerable I guess I had the inspiration to be creative.  Something I have always wanted to do, due to a friend that inspired me from my camp days – ironically – is turn myself into a cartoon.  My friend who did this would constantly draw himself doing different things or would draw himself with extreme expressions.   Usually, the drawing of himself would express what he was feeling inside, just in ways he wasn’t allowed to express outside.  For instance, he would draw himself lighting off some TNT… you get the picture.  I always thought this was such a great way to let off steam or have a constant creative outlet.

Today I drew myself as a cartoon and let me tell you, it was way easier than drawing a realistic photo of myself, which I have blogged about before.  I seemed pretty lonely on the page all by myself, so I drew representations of things I have accomplished within the last five years:

I wont go into all the explanations of what it all means, but those who know me will get it.  More importantly, I get it.  I am hoping the next time I do this particular project the page will be a lot fuller!  Here is to the next five years:

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

